| |

10 Audiobooks to liven up your library

Are you looking for new additions to your audiobook collection? We know it’s difficult to choose! If you’re one of those readers who struggles to pick exactly which books will fit on your digital shelf, here’s a list for you. 

We bring you warm and feel-good romance, full of emotion and genuine hilarity. These laugh-out-loud female-narrated audios are guaranteed to brighten your listening experience and your library! 

How many of these are already part of your collection? 

This hilarious romantic comedy is When Harry Met Sally for the Tinder age.  

The love of your life might be in your phone… or he could be standing right in front of you. 
 
When Fran meets Ollie, it’s eye-roll at first sight. But forced into working together at a trendy media content agency, they soon realise that they could be BFFs. 
  
When Fran’s relationship crumbles and Ollie sets off on a round-the-world trip with his girlfriend, Fran decides to start an anonymous dating column. Detailing all the perils of dating online, Fran begins to wonder: maybe there aren’t plenty more fish in the sea? 
  
But Fran’s about to learn that when you put down your phone, you can find love where you least expect it.   

Perfect for fans of Mhairi MacFarlane, Laura Jane Williams and Sophie Ranald. 
 

An emotional, page-turning read about love, family and the secrets we keep. 

After graduating from Oxford University, Chaya is torn between her duty to family and her life in the UK since her traditional Sri Lankan parents want her to settle down. 
 
Gimhana is hiding his sexuality from his family, and it’s getting harder and harder to turn down the potential brides his parents keep finding for him. 
 
When Chaya and Gimhana meet, a marriage of convenience seems like the perfect solution. Together they have everything – friendship, stability and their parental approval. But when both Chaya and Gimhana find themselves falling in love with other people, they’re left with an impossible decision – risk everything they’ve built together or finally follow their heart? 

‘Wonderfully warm and laugh-out-loud funny… you cannot fail to be uplifted by it’ – Cressida McLaughlin 

Stevie’s life has changed beyond recognition since having her first baby. She loves being a mum, but between the isolation and being vomited on five times a day, she really wishes she had someone to talk to. Turning to the internet, Stevie starts the anonymous First-Time Mum blog and blasts the rose-tinted glasses of parenthood right off her readers. 
 
In the real world, Stevie meets the formidable Nelle and gorgeous Will, along with their own little treasures, and starts to realise that being a ‘perfect mum’ isn’t everything. But when the secret blog goes viral, Stevie must make some tough choices about who she wants to be, and whether she’s ready for the world to know the truth. 
 
A hilarious read for fans of The Unmumsy Mum, Laura Jane Williams and Mhairi McFarlane. 

Nell’s going back to school… but now she’s learning lessons of the heart. 

Reception class teacher Nell has a plan. At least, she did until she arrived at her new home of Humblebee Farm, an old farmhouse on the Yorkshire moors. The roof’s full of holes, the back door’s hanging off and there’s a sheep in the front room… but sometimes a new beginning means starting at the bottom, right? 
 
Xander Scott is one of the youngest headteachers Leyholme Primary School has ever seen. But managing over-zealous parents and their semi-feral kids proves a tricky task for shy Xander – as does keeping his mind on the job when his feelings for the new Reception teacher become more than strictly professional. 
 
At 43, Nell’s new friend Stevie has given up on love. After losing her wife, Stevie’s decided that her four-year-old Milly and cocker spaniel Red are the only girls she needs in her life. That is until larger-than-life dog-walker Deb arrives on the scene. But will Stevie’s past stop her new romance dead in its tracks? 
 
Meeting Xander and Stevie brings joy back into Nell’s life – but when old secrets start to surface, there may be some hard lessons to learn for them all. 

An uplifting romantic comedy that will delight fans of Milly Johnson, Holly Martin and Heidi Swain. 

She’s swapped sink estate for country estate… but can a girl from inner-city London learn how to become a Lady? 

Ariana Byrne knows how to survive. After becoming a guardian to her four little sisters after their parents died when she was only eighteen, she had to grow up quickly. Now she’s in her twenties, stuck in a loveless marriage to Greg, trying to make ends meet for her young twins. 

So when Ari is told that she’s actually the Right Honourable Lady de Foix, Countess of Hiverton, owner of a sprawling estate in the village of Saxburgh, Norfolk, her first instinct is laughter. 
 
She knows how to take care of her sisters and her children, but how on earth can Ari take care of an entire village?  

And while she’s struggling to settle in and settle down, she’s making new friends and new mistakes. Yet, trusting her gorgeous, new neighbour, Sebastian Flint-Hyssop may be the biggest one of all. 
 
A must-read for fans of Jenny Colgan, Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews. 

Three women. Five Kids. One House 

A priceless debut novel – perfect for fans of Marion Keyes, “Why Mummy Drinks” and “Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life?” 
 
Erica knows her suggestion sounds extreme, but when her nanny leaves without notice, she’s desperate. 
When she and Louise to move into Polly’s enormous but run-down house, they must admit that life’s much easier when the childcare and workload is shared. 
 
At first, communal living seems like the answer to all their prayers but resentment starts to grow as they judge each other’s parenting styles and bicker over cleaning, cooking and whose turn it is to buy toilet roll. 
 
As one woman falls for a handsome colleague, one resorts to spying on her husband, and another fights to keep a dark secret, they need each other more than ever. But can Polly, Louise and Erica keep their friendships strong or will their perfect mumtopia fall apart? 

Armed with a bookshelf of positive vibes, Annie’s determined to kick her Crappy Old Year to the curb and have a brilliantly Happy New Year. 

It’s Annie Beaton’s 50th birthday! But instead of getting roses and perfume, she gets sacked; her son, Ben, tells her that she’s growing a beard and her husband Joe tells her he wants a divorce. 
 
Moving to the countryside to stay in her eccentric aunt’s house, Annie tries to get her groove back. So when she discovers a stack of self-help books – from Chicken Soup for the Soul to The Secret – Annie vows to use their advice to get her life back on track. 

A feelgood read for fans of Gill Sims, Sophie Ranald and Tracy Bloom by the author of The Pissed-off Parents Club and Just Another Manic Mum Day. 

Nominated for the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Romantic Comedy Novel Award 2021 

It’s autumn in Stratford-Upon-Avon, and twenty-something Kelsey Anderson has moved from her Scottish home to live in the beautiful town. Her Shakespeare tour guide days behind her, she’s now happily working as a photographer and totally loved up with American actor boyfriend Jonathan – even if long-distance relationships are hard. 
 
When best friend Mirren moves down from Scotland, Kelsey is delighted to have her friend at her side – and as the nights turn colder, Mirren throws herself into dating the eligible bachelors of Stratford, until she finds herself growing closer to journalist Adrian. 
 
But as Mirren uncovers a long-buried scandal while working at the local newspaper, it seems that her big scoop might throw Kelsey’s – and Jonathan’s – life upside down. Will she choose her career over her friends’ happiness? 
 
This light-hearted and contemporary romance is perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Carole Matthews, and Holly Martin. 

A gorgeously uplifting romance that will captivate readers of Cathy Bramley, Jill Mansell and Josie Silver. 

Grace thought she had it all. Living in a beautiful village along with her husband Mark and son, Archie, she had devoted herself to being the perfect mum and wife. 

Until that fateful day when she walked in on Mark kissing his secretary – and her perfect life fell apart. Now she’s a single mum, trying to find her way in life and keep things together for Archie’s sake. 
 
Grace’s life needs a shake-up, and fast. So when gorgeous gardener Vinnie turns up on her doorstep, she might just have found the answer to her prayers 

Readers looking for a unique literary but equally entertaining addition to their digital library should definitely check out the writings of Tice Can. She is a London Writers Award-winner from London known for her interdisciplinary artistry. A producer and DJ, she has released an EP, Keeping the House, to accompany her debut novel of the same name. 

Cabbages . . . The Turkish variety are prized for their enlarged leaf bud, that’s where we put the heroin… 

There’s a stash of heroin waiting to be imported, and no one seems sure what to do with it . . . But Ayla’s a gardener, and she has a plan. 

Offering a fresh and funny take on the machinery of the North London heroin trade, Keeping the House lifts the lid on a covert world thriving just beneath notice: not only in McDonald’s queues and men’s clubs, but in spotless living rooms and whispering kitchens.  

Spanning three generations, this is the story of the women who keep their family – and their family business – afloat, juggling everything from police surveillance to trickier questions of community, belonging and love. 

Great for fans of Zadie Smith, Monica Ali and Brit Bennett. 

Similar Posts