| | | |

New Books from SAGA this November

We’ve got just the books for you to cosy up with this chilly winter season. 

This month Saga Egmont brings you something for everyone. From historical fiction and romance to modern and contemporary stories, with a splash of biographical writing. We even have fresh voices bringing you their debut novels. We’re sure you won’t want to miss these releases! 

Here’s the rundown of the latest reads coming to you this month for you to bundle up with.

A moving exploration of how we choose or refuse to tell the stories that shape us.  

Ruby gives up talking at a young age. Her mother isn’t always there to notice; she comes and goes and goes and comes, until, one day, she doesn’t. Silence becomes Ruby’s refuge, sheltering her from the weather of her mother’s mental illness and a pressurized suburban atmosphere. 

Plangent, deft, and sparkling with wry humor, Somebody Loves You is “a truly enriching read” in the words of Salena Godden. 

Watch our interview with Mona Arshi: Mona Arshi Author Interview | In Depth

Impulsive, brave and loveable, Annie Lang is formidable when she takes matters into her own hands.

Growing up in a strict religious family in the 1920s, Annie Lang is witness to disturbing events that no one will explain. Only the family dog may know the answers. 
 
Six years on, student Annie returns from France to find her beloved brother in a mental hospital and her ally, the Sunday school teacher, vanished without trace. With the help of her childhood diary, and sister Beatrice, Annie turns detective to unearth the truth.

Her journey leads to a discovery so disturbing that she believes it will ruin all their lives, unless they can atone for the past.

Ros Franey beautifully captures that point when a child can sense, and indeed dissent against, secrets that adults think they are too young to grasp. 

A gorgeous tale of friendship, family and faith. Beautifully written and thoughtful’ – Freya North

Margot Goodwin arrives as the new curate at St Mark’s, Highbury. She’s one part exhilarated, ten parts terrified.

This is the most important twelve months of her life. Success would mean becoming a fully-fledged priest a year from now, something she feels profoundly called to do. Failure would not only prove her father right, but also delight all those in the anti camp who consider woman priests an abomination.

Can she convince everyone – herself included – that she’s more than a five foot eight redhead with a PhD and a penchant for Max Factor’s Mulberry Lipfinity?

Meticulously researched, this is the first novel to focus on the challenges facing a young female priest. Published for the anniversary of womens’ ordination in March 2018.

For fans of Joanne Harris and Stacy Halls.

Strange things bring people together – like a tragic death. But what if it’s built on a lie? The truth comes at a price.

31st December 1999 – Six friends gather for their traditional New Year Celebration – this year, in a lakeside cabin on the outskirts of Prague. In every group of friends, each has a role. All except Gael that is. The outsider. The one who wasn’t there when it happened.

Dhan was the jester of the group, until he disappeared, taking part of their future with him. In spite of this monumental loss, the remainder of the group has gathered every other New Year’s Eve since to remember Dhan’s death and to celebrate their friendship.

Two decades later, on their final celebration together it’s Gael’s turn to organise their reunion and she is determined to uncover the truth of what exactly happened that night 20 years ago. In a snowy chalet on New Year’s Eve, she starts asking questions. Old wounds reopen and a dark secret comes to light, sending shockwaves through their lives.

A character-driven psychological drama told from five different perspectives in both past and present, “Odd Numbers” weaves a tapestry of mystery, grief, survivor’s guilt, lies, secrets and how humans change and evolve over time.

“Her memoir, starting from the sadness of exile and war in childhood, reveals her on every page as enterprising, courageous and warm-hearted – and is a delight to read”- Claire Tomalin

At the time of his death Eric Hobsbawm was the most famous historian in the world. He not only wrote history, but he was also witness to it; from the Communist uprising in Europe to revolution in Cuba where he was Che Guevara’s interpreter. He was instrumental in the birth of New Labour and was also a jazz journalist for The New Statesman. 
 
Marlene Hobsbawm grew up in a comfortable middle class Jewish home in Vienna, but that life was shattered by the rise of Nazism. Her family left Austria for the UK in 1937 to escape the rise of Nazism. A talented linguist, Marlene worked post-war for the UN in Italy helping to rebuild the country and then onto war-torn Congo. Returning to the UK she met Eric Hobsbawm. 
 
This memoir is the story of their roller coaster life together, much of it spent under the scrutiny of MI5. 

The perfect opportunity for you to throw yourself into a murder investigation

While processing a crisis Gothenburg policeman, Dennis, takes a trip to his quiet childhood island, Smögen.  

He thought he was in for some peaceful days at the small town island, but he is mistaken. Everything changes when the body of a young man is found in the habour basin and an old friend of his is missing.  

Dennis is now a part of the biggest murder investigation the area has ever seen. 

Enter Sandra Haraldsson, an ambitious young and straight forward police aspirant.  

This was definitely not the calm and serene summer Dennis had planned for himself to recover. But can Sandra heal his heart while they take on the investigation? 

The Man on the Beach is the first part in the series “The Smögen Murders”.