Woman in headscarf lying on sofa breastfeeding baby
| | |

Audiobooks to listen to while breastfeeding

Are you a new mum having to will yourself awake in the wee hours of the night to breastfeed? These 10 audiobooks are here to save you from the boredom!

We all know about the blissful rewarding experience that is motherhood, but of course no one tells you about the sheer boredom women have to suffer through in those first few months of late night/early morning feedings. Seems like it was conveniently left out right?

Do you find yourself counting down the seconds until it’s over, or letting your mind wander to those bizarre 3 am thoughts? Well we’ve got your back – we’ve collected 10 audiobooks that are perfect to accompany your feeding routine.

Ranging from light-hearted and hilarious to deep and thought-provoking stories – these are sure to help you get through the night in one piece and keep you entertained!

A perfect laugh-out-loud read for fans of The Unmumsy Mum, Laura Jane Williams and Mhairi McFarlane.

Stevie’s life has changed beyond recognition since having her first baby. She loves being a mum, but between the isolation and being vomited on five times a day, she really wishes she had someone to talk to.

With husband Ted working hard to keep the family afloat, Stevie really doesn’t want to burden him with her feelings. Turning to the internet, Stevie starts the anonymous First-Time Mum blog and blasts the rose-tinted glasses of parenthood right off her readers.

In the real world, Stevie meets the formidable Nelle and gorgeous Will, along with their own little treasures, and starts to realise that being a ‘perfect mum’ isn’t everything. But when the secret blog goes viral, Stevie must make some tough choices about who she wants to be, and whether she’s ready for the world to know the truth…

This is the perfect cosy romance for fans of Julie Houston, Victoria Walters and Trisha Ashley.

A heart-warming romance, full of love and friendship.

Beatrice Halliday has turned her life around since arriving in in the Scottish Highlands six months ago. Not only has she found love with her boyfriend Atholl Fergusson, but she is now successfully running The Princess and the Pea Inn, and welcoming visitors from all over the world to the beautiful village of Port Willow.

Life seems perfect – until a surprise discovery threatens to derail the happiness, she has worked so hard for. In an attempt to distract herself, she takes over the role of cupid and tries her hand at matchmaking.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Carole Matthews and Holly Martin, this is the second book in the Port Willow Bay series.

You might also enjoy: Who Run the World…? Girls!

Three women. Five Kids. One House – What could possibly go wrong?

Erica knows her suggestion sounds extreme, but when her nanny leaves without notice, she’s desperate…

When she and Louise move into Polly’s enormous but run-down house, they must admit that life’s much easier when the childcare and workload is shared.

At first, communal living seems like the answer to all their prayers but resentment starts to grow as they judge each other’s parenting styles and bicker over cleaning, cooking and whose turn it is to buy toilet roll.

As one woman falls for a handsome colleague, one resorts to spying on her husband, and another fights to keep a dark secret, they need each other more than ever. But can Polly, Louise and Erica keep their friendships strong or will their perfect Mumtopia fall apart?

A genuinely hilarious debut novel, that’s perfect for fans of Marion Keyes, “Why Mummy Drinks” and “Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life?”

An intelligent, passionate, compelling romance set between England and Jamaica, imbued with picturesque Caribbean sun, sand, and sea descriptions.

‘I dream you last night.’ Mother Cynthy’s smile, like her eyes, courted mischief. ‘Dream you were swimming with fishes. This can mean only one thing…’

The Meadows, Jamaica. Beautiful young Kat Lewis, artist and daughter of the community, has always wanted a child. When Mother Cynthy, the town herbalist, sees Kat swimming with fishes in a dream, the vision can only mean one thing: Kat will soon be a mother.

Tall, handsome Thornton “Ben” Benjamin, a successful Londoner in the real estate business, is on a business trip to The Meadows when he spots Kat on the beach. Despite the warning signs in his head, he is unable to resist. He pursues her and their initial friendship soon blossoms into a passionate romance.

But secrets remain untold between them: Kat is suffering from a chronic illness and Ben has a secret life back home. Will their love survive those revelations, and will Ben be the man to make Kat’s dream come true?

Dark, suspenseful, and romantic. A page-turning love affair set against the rich backdrop of Jamaica, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Tia Williams and Adele Parks.

A laugh-out-loud, heart-warming read for every parent who has struggled bleary-eyed through toddler tantrums, school fancy dress fails and found unlikely friendships over wine and cake

As a single mom, Frankie’s bold and brave, and right now she’s winning at life – isn’t she? Underneath her big smile and daring outfits, she’s hiding a secret. Her five-year-old son Liam is awesome. But life as a solo parent is tough. Her job as a barmaid sucks, her meddling mother is taking over and she’s far from living her best life.

Maybe she’s lost her way and starting to feel… lonely.

When Frankie’s overbearing mother breaks her leg and has to go and live with her saintly sister, it’s time for Frankie to hit shuffle and shake things up. Because she wants to turn things around for the little boy who holds the keys to her broken heart.

Surrounded by perfect mothers, Frankie realises she needs some real mum friends to get her through the repetitive school runs and red-faced dating disasters. The kind of people who won’t judge your shop bought cakes and will bring wine to your door, just because.

So Frankie sweeps up anxious Kate and organised Alison in her whirlwind. As the trio face the troubles and trials of motherhood, they learn that parenting is about taking one day at a time. And together they can wing it through anything, can’t they?

Perfect for fans of The UnMumsy Mum, Why Mummy Drinks and Poppy Dolan.

A 5-star must-read: ‘Oh my goodness this book is so so funny! It will have you laughing until you cry!… A fantastically funny read!’ – Jessica’s Book Biz ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It is the 1970s and Oxford’s male institutions are finally opening their doors to women – seen through the eyes of a young female historian, who tells her own story with wit and feeling in this original and charming novel

Sarah Addleshaw – young, spirited and keen to prove her worth – begins term as the first female academic at her college. She is, in fact, its only female ‘Fellow’.

Impulsive love affairs – with people, places and the ideas in her head – beset Sarah throughout her first exhilarating year as a don, but it is the Reading Party that has the most dramatic impact. Asked to accompany the first mixed group of students on the annual retreat in Cornwall, Sarah finds herself illicitly drawn to one of them, the suave American Tyler. Torn between professional integrity and personal feelings, she faces her biggest challenge yet.

One crumbling cottage. One broken heart. A chance to start over?

When Annie returns to Thorndale, a village in the English countryside where she spent much of her childhood, she’s looking for a new start. All she wants to do is fix up the cottage her godmother left her, and mend her broken heart.

When she clashes with local hero, Jon, Annie can’t help but wonder if coming back to Thorndale was a mistake. The village has clearly changed, and the last thing she needs is more drama. But avoiding the distractingly handsome Jon is proving impossible, especially when Thorndale seems to be conspiring to throw them together…

Annie is looking for a fresh start with zero romance – but what if the only way to learn to trust again is to take a risk on love?

An uplifting, feel-good story about friendship, romance, and finding the hero inside yourself.

Twenty-nine-year-old Lily Buckley planned to be happily married and in her dream job by now. Instead, she’s been single since being left at the altar three years ago, and works at her local paper, writing stories about giant vegetables at the village fete and a dog who looks exactly like Chewbacca.

Not quite what she had on her vision board.

So when Lily’s allowed to write her own column it’s exactly what she’s always wanted – except there’s a catch. She has to do one thing every week that scares her then write about it.

With encouragement from a sexy colleague – and adrenaline-junkie – Christopher, Lily agrees. From sky-diving to haunted houses, Lily is being pushed to her limit. And since heartbreak has left her afraid of falling in love again, her growing feelings for Christopher might be the thing to push her past it.

But then her mum has a crisis, and Lily’s column is the only thing keeping her – and her colleagues’ – jobs afloat, and then Christopher’s ex arrives with her sights set on a romantic reunion.

Suddenly jumping out of a plane is the least of Lily’s problems… Can she save her family, her friends, and her heart – or will she let her fears hold her back?

Fans of Marian Keyes, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella will love Colleen Coleman!

The perfect 5-star read: ‘OMG I loved it! It’s brilliant!!!… Hilariously relatable… Move over Beyoncé… Love the sass!’ The Writing Garnet ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Rediscover Emma in this new, lively audio edition, narrated by acclaimed West End actress Kathryn Drysdale

Looking to delve a little deeper into the treasure trove of Jane Austen’s great works? Well, look no further. Austen’s novel ‘Emma’ was revolutionary in it’s narrative technique and brilliantly showcases the evolution of Austen’s writings.

In this brand new audio edition, acclaimed West-End actress Kathryn Drysdale deftly performs the quaint and playful story of a beautiful, rich and clever young heiress who, despite having decided never to marry,  takes it upon herself to play cupid in her small home town.

As it becomes evident that her self-proclaimed match-making skills are borne of delusion, Emma finds herself at the heart of several romantic misadventures. Emma herself however, is completely blind to the havoc she wreaks when meddling with other people’s lives. It is a novel powered by the strength and dynamism of its brilliant ensemble of characters, as Emma’s antics continue to lead herself and all those around her astray.

Emma is a stunning novel which has also been adapted for screen several times, most notably the 2020 Film starring Anya Taylor-Joy. Kathryn Drysdale, known for her recent role in Netflix’s period drama, Bridgerton skillfully portrays Austen’s rich dialogue and multi-dimensional characters in this must-read classic.

You might also enjoy: Introducing the Saga Premium Classics Collection

The first novel to shed a light on the challenges facing a young female priest – perfect for fans of Joanne Harris and Stacy Halls

Margot Goodwin arrives as the new curate at St Mark’s, Highbury. She’s one part exhilarated, ten parts terrified.

This is the most important twelve months of her life. Success would mean becoming a fully-fledged priest a year from now, something she feels profoundly called to do. Failure would not only prove her father right, but also delight all those in the anti-camp who consider woman priests an abomination.

Can she convince everyone – herself included – that she’s more than a five foot eight redhead with a PhD and a penchant for Max Factor’s Mulberry Lipfinity?