| | |

New Books from SAGA this October

Woman sitting in autumn mood with pumpkins and spiced drink

Wondering what to read next? Get your calendars out and be ready to mark the dates for these drops in the month of October.

This Autumn, Saga Egmont brings you both thrilling and passionate stories from some familiar authors as well as inspiring tales from new voices. 

So, grab your pumpkin spice latte and snuggle up with this list of upcoming books that we’re sure you won’t want to miss!

The Woolly Hat Knitting Club

Finding happiness one stitch at a time… 

When Dee Blackthorn’s brother, JP, breaks both wrists not only is he in need of a helping hand – or two – but the knitting shop he owns can’t function. Sisterly duties take Dee away from her demanding job and she is unceremoniously fired amidst scandalous office rumours. Dee is certain that her hot-shot nemesis, Ben, is behind it all.  

Back in the village of Fenwild in JP’s shop, Dee bumps into Becky, an old friend who is a new mum to a premature baby. Desperate to help Becky, Dee convinces JP to enlist his knitting pals to make tiny woolly hats to keep the little one warm. Seeing how grateful her friend is, Dee makes it her mission to help lots of other premature babies.  

When Ben turns up denying involvement in Dee’s sacking she is initially furious but hears him out before roping him into helping the knitting cause. But before long Dee’s good intentions backfire and she risks losing her friends, her family and Ben, who’s turned out to be not so bad after all…  

A feel-good romantic comedy about life, love and knitting, The Woolly Hat Knitting Club is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Tilly Tennant and Carole Matthews.

Mermaid Singing

A travel writing classic, available for the first time in twenty years with a new introduction by Polly Samson.

In 1954 Australian writers Charmian Clift and George Johnston, with children in tow, left grey post-war London for Greece. 

“Mermaid Singing” details the culture shock and sheer delight of their first year on the tiny sponge-fishing island of Kalymnos. Clift paints an evocative picture of the characters and sun-drenched rhythms of traditional life, long before mass tourism descended. 

The perfect read for those in Autumn denial, “Mermaid Singing” is the companion volume to “Peel Me a Lotus” which is also available as an audiobook from Saga Egmont.

The Book Boyfriend

“Let us find solace in the quiet…” 

Emmeline (Emmy) always dreamed of being an author, finding comfort in words and between the pages of her beloved romance novels, but a mental health diagnosis leaves her blocked and unable to write.  

She inherits a crumbling, second-hand bookshop from a mysterious old friend and soon discovers that magic is real and maybe her fantasies about the heroes in her favourite historical romances aren’t so far-fetched after all.. 

A handsome stranger–wielding a sword as dangerous as his Tudor past–appears in Emmy’s bookshop asking for help. Together they must race against time itself to lift the curse imprisoning him in an ancient book. But when growing threats to her safety are proved real and not another symptom of her illness, Emmy must learn to trust her own voice again. 

Can she find the words to save both him and her shop before tragedy strikes on the fateful final page? 

A Twist in the Tale

A fantastic collection of short stories from bestselling author Jeffrey Archer.  

A man calls unexpectedly on his mistress and sees another man leaving her flat! Accusing her of being unfaithful (the audacity!), he quarrels with her, strikes her (this guy?!). The mistress dies. Leaving unseen, the killer tips off the police so that his mistresses’ lover is arrested and charged… Has he achieved ‘The Perfect Murder’?  

This is the tantalising opener to ‘A Twist in the Tale’.  

Other stories include a rivalry founded on eating cornflakes, wine-tasting with a bizarre difference, and a violent row in a golf clubhouse bar . . . sit back and enjoy these cunningly constructed, fast-moving, entertaining set of stories from the bestselling author Jeffrey Archer. 

Sunshine and Second Chances

It’s never too late to be offered a second chance at life. 
 
Debs is newly single, Fiona is caring for her mum, Samantha is grieving, and Liv has the perfect life – or so she’d like her friends to think… 
 
This year, these four life-long friends are turning fifty, and Liv is determined they will honour their promise to each other – made on a beach at sunrise twenty-nine years before – to celebrate this milestone together. 
 
And what better place than a gorgeous villa where they will be spoiled and enjoy the stunning beaches, picturesque fishing towns and glorious climate of the Algarve? 
 
But time away from home doesn’t always make the heart grow fonder. Sometimes it makes the thought of returning to your life too hard to bear. Especially with more than one gorgeous Portuguese man making hearts unexpectedly flutter… 
 
It begins as a reunion in the sunshine, but little do the four friends know what life-changing decisions they’ll all be making before their flight home. 

Keep My Secrets

A life built on lies – now the truth could destroy her.

Frankie Turner knows what it’s like to be unwanted; she was brought up in care. Currently working as a social worker, she’s someone who understands … But Frankie is hiding an unthinkable secret: one that may have its roots in the murder of a young woman fifteen years ago.

Someone knows what Frankie is hiding – and now they’re back to shatter her perfect life, terrorizing her with menacing letters and silent calls to the house she shares with husband Alex.

She may have reinvented herself, but Frankie’s past is back to haunt her – and now, there’s nowhere to run.

A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Erin Kelly won’t be able to put this one down.


Similar Posts